Can more be done about STDs on campus?

I’ve taken numerous health ed classes on sexually transmitted diseases in my years in middle school, high school as well as in college.  I see facts posted on bulletin boards in dorms and around the UMass Amherst campus yet, there are facts I do not know, and they are facts I as well as many other sexually active students should know.

In a recent google search I came across a March 2009 article on the links between STD’s and HIV, two things that some people feel are separate issues according to the article. I have always been taught that the two are connected and that HIV/AIDs is considered an STD, but I never realized some of the connections that HIV has with other STDs.

Like for one, diseases such as herpes and syphilis, as well as others, can put a person at greater risk of catching HIV, due to the legions the STDs can cause.  With reports of one in four college students having an STD, this should be a more published fact. If I have missed this fact in all the classes I have taken over the past 11 years, then shame on me, but I haven’t even heard this be passed around my friends, and STDs can be a common topic among college students.

This got me thinking as to what other facts are out there that I may not know and while searching on WebMD I came across a question and answer about STD’s that I feel people should read. Most of the information may be known but at the same time, if there is one more fact that you learn, then that is one step towards the bigger picture, preventing STD’s.

To me I’m not surprised that, having one STD can make it easier for one to get HIV, or vice versa, but more that I did not know this information. I assumed that there was a greater chance because as the article states, if you have one of them you clearly didn’t practice safe sex at one point in time so who says you do all the time. But I never knew that there were actual things going on in your body that increased the risk.

College campuses do a lot to try to prevent the spread of STDs there is no doubt about that. But is there more information that can be told that may prevent more spreading. If getting one more fact out, such as this, prevents us a single person from contracting something, then it has been a success. So, can more be done?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

